Rockbox.org home
release
dev builds
extras
themes manual
wiki
device status forums
mailing lists
IRC bugs
patches
dev guide



Rockbox mail archive

Subject: Re: Are the "system volume information" and "recycled" folders real?
From: Benjamin (mailinglists_at_samuraipanda.com)
Date: 2003-05-13


They are put their by Windows. The Recycle will hold anything you delete from
the Roclkbox while connected to a Windows machine. The System Volume
Information is part of Windows XP's system restore process. Both will take up
space, the former when you "delete" files as they are actually moved there
while connected to a Windows machine. The latter will have information to
restore the drive back to a previous state (size depends on what Windows
thinks has changed). It's difficult to disable the creation of these folders
in Windows, but you can try the following:

Recycle Bin:
     1. Right Click on the recycle bin on the windows desktop and select
Properties.
     2. On the Global tab, select "Configure Drives Independently" .
     3. On the Rockbox/Jukebox tab, check "Do not move files ...".

System Restore:
     1. Right click on My Computer on the Windows desktop and select Properties.
     2. On th System Restore tab, checkmark "Turn off System Restore on all
drives" (my preference, but a bit dangerous). NOTE, this will disable System
Restore for your system, so you won't be able to "go back" to a previous state
if something screws up your files.

Ben

On Mon, 12 May 2003 20:10:45 -0400, Aman Singer wrote
> Hi, all.
> I'm using Windows XP pro, Rockbox 2.0, and a USB 2.0 controller
> on an Archos 6000 (original player), running version 4.53 of the Archos
> firmware in ROM. When I access the disk using the explorer, I see two
> folders, one being called "system volume information", and one being
> called "recycled". They are both on my HD as well as the Archos. I'd
> like to know, first, if these folders are taking up space (they don't
> seem to be), but I do wonder. Secondly, are they real folders? That
> is, I didn't put them there, and don't use them. I tried deleting
> both, getting an error that someone else was using the folders,
> despite the fact that my system has no other user account and the
> drive is not accessible over the network. Is it possible that these
> are simply shortcuts that appear in the explorer while having no
> real existence? Thanks for any help, all. Aman



Page was last modified "Jan 10 2012" The Rockbox Crew
aaa